Research Honours & Core Faculty: 2012-13


Dr. An-Wen Chan
• The Breathe New Life Award (Ontario Lung Association)

Dr. Cindy-Lee Dennis
• Hope Inspiration Award (Mood Disorders Association of Ontario)

Dr. Janice Du Mont
• Vision Award (International Association of Forensic Nurses)

Dr. Ophira Ginsburg
• YWCA Women of Distinction Award

Dr. Andrea Grunier
• CIHR New Investigator Award

Dr. Gillian Hawker
• Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal
• The Jeff Shiroky Award (Laurentian Conference of Rheumatology)
• The Robert Hyland Award for Excellence in Mentorship (University of Toronto Department of Medicine)

Dr. Sophie Jamal
• Young Investigator Award (Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism)

Dr. Joanne Kotsopoulos
• The Champion of Genetics Rising Star Award (Canadian Gene Cure Foundation)

Dr. Steven Narod
• Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
• Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal
• O. Harold Warwick Prize (Canadian Cancer Society)
• Champion of Genetics Award (Canadian Gene Cure Foundation)
• FORCE Spirit of Empowerment Award (Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered)

Dr. Paula Rochon
• Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Dr. Valerie Taylor
• TOPS Research Award (Canadian Obesity Network)
• Fellow of the SCOPE International Fellowship (International Association for the Study of Obesity)

Dr. Simone Vigod
• Ontario Mental Health New Investigator Award



  • Mohammad Akbari, MD, PhD
  • An-Wen Chan, MD, DPhil, FRCPC
    Phelan Scientist
  • Catherine Classen, PhD
  • Heather Carnahan, PhD
  • Cindy-Lee Dennis, PhD
    Shirley Brown Chair in Women’s Mental Health Research
  • Janice Du Mont, EdD
  • Shannon Dunn, PhD
  • Sheila Dunn, MD, MSc, FCFP
  • Ophira Ginsburg, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • Andrea Gruneir, PhD
  • Paula Harvey, BMBS, PhD, FRACP
  • Gillian Hawker, MD, MSc, FRCPC
    FM Hill Chair in Women’s Academic Medicine
  • Sophie Jamal, MD, PhD
  • Ava John-Baptiste, PhD
  • Joanne Kotsopoulos, PhD
    Cancer Care Ontario Chair in Population Studies
  • Lorraine Lipscombe, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • Mona Loutfy, MD, FRCPC, MPH
  • Robin Mason, PhD
  • Sutapa Mukherjee, MBBS, FRACP, PhD
  • Steven Narod, MD, FRCPC, FRSC
    Canada Research Chair in Breast Cancer
  • Paula Rochon, MD, MPH, FRCPC
    VP Research, Women’s College Hospital
  • John Semple, MD, FRCSC, MSc
    Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, Ontario Chair in Surgical Breast Cancer Research
  • Valerie Taylor, MD, PhD, FRCPC
  • Simone Vigod, MD, MSc, FRCPC
    Shirley Brown Clinician-Scientist


  • Anthony Antoniou, PharmD (post-doctoral fellow)
  • Ananya Banerjee, MSc, PhD (post-doctoral fellow)
  • Taryn Becker, MD, MSc, FRCPC (research fellow)
  • Anita Benoit, PhD (post-doctoral fellow)
  • Amy Finch, MSc, CGC, PhD (post-doctoral fellow)
  • Troy Grennan, MD, FRCPC (graduate student – MSc)
  • Celeste Hamilton (graduate student -PhD)
  • Noah Ivers, MD, CCFP (graduate student – PhD)
  • Iliana Lega, MD (graduate student – MSc)
  • Lisa McCarthy, RPh, PharmD, MSc (post-doctoral fellow)
  • Geetha Mukerji, MD, FACP, FRCPC (graduate student – MSc)
  • Rachael Pettapiece-Phillips (graduate student – MSc)
  • Bheeshma Ravi, MD (research fellow)
  • Dallas Seitz (graduate student – PhD)
  • Jacob Udell, MD, MPH, FRCPC (research fellow)
  • Adriana Valentini (graduate student – MSc)
  • Sarah West, MSc, PhD (post-doctoral fellow)